Allo' Expat Chicago - Connecting Expats in Chicago
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Chicago Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Chicago
Chicago General Information
History of Chicago
Chicago Culture
Chicago Cuisine
Chicago Geography
Chicago Population
Chicago Government
Chicago Economy
Chicago Media
Chicago Transportations
Chicago Education
Chicago Security & Crime
Chicago Healthcare
Chicago Climate & Environment
Chicago Expatriates Handbook
Chicago and Foreign Government
Chicago General Listings
Chicago Useful Tips
Chicago Education & Medical
Chicago Travel & Tourism Info
Chicago Lifestyle & Leisure
Chicago Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Chicago Education

There are 680 public schools, 394 private schools, 83 colleges, and 88 libraries in Chicago proper. Chicago Public Schools (CPS), is the governing body of a district that contains over 600 public elementary and high schools citywide, including several selective-admission magnet schools. According to the 2005 statistic, the school district, with an enrollment exceeding 400,000 students, ranks as third largest in the US.

Private schools in Chicago are largely run by religious groups. The two largest systems are run by Christian religious denominations, Roman Catholic and Lutheran, respectively. The Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Chicago operates the city's Roman Catholic schools, including Jesuit preparatory schools. Some of the more prominent examples of schools run by the Archdiocese are: Brother Rice High School, Loyola Academy, St. Ignatius College Prep, St. Scholastica Academy, Mount Carmel High School, Mother McAuley Liberal Arts High School, Marist High School, and St. Patrick High School and Resurrection High School.

In addition to Chicago's network of 32 Lutheran Schools, Chicago also has private schools run by other denominations and faiths such as Ida Crown Jewish Academy in West Rogers Park, and the Fasman Yeshiva High School in Skokie, a nearby suburb. There are also a number of private schools run in a completely secular educational environment such as: Latin School, University of Chicago Laboratory Schools in Hyde Park, Francis W. Parker School, Chicago City Day School in Lake View and Morgan Park Academy. Chicago is also home of the prestigious Chicago Academy for the Arts, an arts high school focused on 6 different categories of the arts, Media Arts, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Musical Theatre and Theatre. It has been heralded as the best arts high school in the country. Children commute from as far away as South Bend, Indiana every day to attend classes.

Since the 1890s, Chicago has been a world centre in higher education and research. Six universities in or immediately adjoining the city – the University of Chicago, Northwestern University, DePaul University, University of Illinois Chicago, Loyola University Chicago, and the Illinois Institute of Technology – are among some of the top educational institutions in the world.

The University of Chicago, established in 1891, is a private university located in Hyde Park on the city's South Side. The university has had 82 Nobel Prize laureates among its faculty and alumni. The university also maintains the Pritzker School of Medicine, the University of Chicago Law School and the Booth School of Business.

Northwestern University, established in 1851, is a non-sectarian, private, research university located in the adjacent northern suburb of Evanston. The University maintains the Kellogg Graduate School of Management, the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, the McCormick School of Engineering, the Bienen School of Music, and the Medill School of Journalism. Northwestern also has a downtown Chicago campus, with the Feinberg School of Medicine and School of Law, both being located in the city's Streeterville neighbourhood. Northwestern is a member of the Big Ten Athletic Conference.

The University of Illinois at Chicago, a nationally ranked public research institution, is the largest university within the city. UIC boasts the nation's largest medical school. Besides UIC, state funded universities in Chicago include Chicago State University and Northeastern Illinois University. The city also has a large community college system known as the City Colleges of Chicago.

Prominent Catholic universities in Chicago include Loyola University and DePaul University. Loyola, established in 1870 as Saint Ignatius College, has campuses on city's North Side as well as downtown, and a Medical Center in the West suburban Maywood, is the largest Jesuit university in the country while DePaul, a Big East Conference university is the largest Catholic university in the US. Loyola University Chicago is a private Jesuit university.

The Illinois Institute of Technology is a private Ph.D.-granting technological university. The main campus is established in Bronzeville, and is home to renowned engineering and architecture programs. The university was host to world-famous modern architect Ludwig Mies van der Rohe for many years. IIT also maintains a formal academic and research relationship with the Argonne National Laboratory. The IIT Institute of Design is located downtown, and the Stuart School of Business and Chicago-Kent College of Law are located within the city's financial district. IIT shares its main campus with the VanderCook College of Music, the only independent college in the country focusing exclusively on the training of music educators, and Shimer College, a private liberal arts college which follows the Great Books program.

Lake Forest College is Chicago's national liberal arts college. North Park University is located in Chicago's Albany park neighbourhood, it enrolls a little over 3,000 students and has been listed on US News' college review as one of the best universities in the Midwest.

The Chicago area has the largest concentration of seminaries and theological schools outside the Vatican. The city is home to the Catholic Theological Union, Chicago Theological Seminary, Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago, McCormick Theological Seminary, Hebrew Theological College, Meadville Lombard Theological School, North Park Theological Seminary, the Divinity School of the University of Chicago, the Moody Bible Institute, Seabury-Western Theological Seminary and Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary.

Founded on the principles of social justice, Roosevelt University was named in honour of president Franklin D. Roosevelt, two weeks after his death. It houses the Theatre and Music Conservatories under the Chicago College of Performing Arts. Rush Medical College, now part of Rush University, was the first institution of higher learning chartered in Illinois and one of the first medical schools to open west of the Alleghenies. Fine and performing arts programs in Chicago may be pursued at the The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, The American Academy of Art and Columbia College Chicago. The Cooking and Hospitality Institute of Chicago, became affiliated with Le Cordon Bleu of Paris in June 2000.





copyrights ©
2014 | Policy